poetry

Little Cottage-a poem

There is a little cottage

buried deep in my memories.

Wall to wall

shelf upon shelf

books

and papers stack high above the ground.

 

My old ideas

and young as time,

but I still recall

the feelings

those stories would

to others

and myself

I would sit

and write

for days at time.

Knowing sometime

all of my writings would

make sense.

And yet,

years have past

and some ink smudges

I’m not able to recover.

 

Burnt journal entries

and thrown away memories,

but still stored

in the back of my mind.

May I never

forget

the first time

I held a pen

or felt crisp

paper between my fingers.

 

May I never forget what it

felt like when

all of the breadcrumbs

underneath my bed

dissolved into dust.

3 thoughts on “Little Cottage-a poem”

Leave a Reply

