Reviews

Path of Jen by Sidney Wood-Review

I was given the wonderful opportunity from the people at Book Tasters to review Sidney Wood’s novel Path of Jen. I would like to thank Book Tasters before I begin this review. Without their help, I would’ve never discovered this great novel.

Synopsis 

Path of Jen follows the story of an average teen named Jen. Her and her dad go on a trip to Tehran (the capital of Iran). Ever since the uprising of ISIS and the Iran/Iraq war, Tehran has been in a state distress. Due to the current events, Jen and her father must take caution. The trip went as planned until Jen was kidnapped.

My Thoughts

Going into this novel, I didn’t know a lot about ISIS and the Islamic State. I should’ve known more about them, but this book helped me have a better understanding. It helped relieve some of my confusion.

Some of the events such as the kidnapping have sensitive material.

I thought this book was very well written. Each moment was described in crisp detail. The only thing that I was a little iffy about was some of Jen’s thoughts were a little corny. I don’t know how to describe it, but it didn’t sound like someone would say let alone think. They weren’t really realistic?

Either way I really enjoyed this book. I give it 4/5. Path of Jen is gripping and a definite read for teens and adults.

Thank you for reading!

Until next time,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

