poetry

You Again/An Old Enemy

Part 1-You Again

 

Where did I go wrong,

This Valentine’s day you

Would ask

When the pages from

My notebooks are torn

And my dreams

Are shattered.

Memories.

Then you again.

The only taxi that

Seemed to be available

That lonely night

When souls collide

And wedding bells would

Ring.

Cupid’s arrows

Taken from his sheath.

You again.

I didn’t see this coming.

 

We spent months apart,

You and I.

My only hope,

The only star in the sky

Now faded to black

And tear in my heartstrings.

Maybe now I know why,

You’re alone too.

 

Part 2-An Old Enemy

 

Believe it or not,

I was on my way there

Too.

To see you shine

Like that star you once were.

Now on Broadway,

Can’t believe it to be true.

My old enemy,

I thought it was you.

But my heart still belonged

To you.

With the single rose

I hold in my hand.

A black ribbon tied

Around its stem.

 

“May you ever

Find me again,

Take this..”

I say,

And hand him the rose.

 

I get out of the car.

“Wait, don’t go,”

He pleads.

My old enemy,

May it be true,

To not be you,

But it was me too.

 

I walk through the

Rain,

I walk through the doors.

Just to find you

Standing there

With that rose.

It’s now dead,

But the black ribbon,

Now white.

 

The rain stops

And he says

“Will you stay this time?”

 

Hi, my bookish pals! It’s been a while.

I hope you enjoyed this poem. I wrote this for my Creative Writing class last semester. We were given specific details to work with such as “a taxi, Valentine’s Day, and an old enemy”. I thought it was quite fun.

Happy Memorial Day! (To those who live in the US)

Side note: I graduate this Sunday…wow! Where did high school go?

How have you all been? (Leave a comment below and all that jazz.)

Until next time my friends,

Hannah 🙂

Leave a Reply

