Reviews

Thirteen Reasons Why-My Opinion

Wow, it’s been a while *walks in with a cup of tea and skids to the screen* I’ve missed you all! (Work, rehearsals, and school have taken over my life. ONCE AGAIN) *laughing emoji because I’m typing this on a desktop computer*

I have a funny story before we begin!

Today I purchased one of those Unicorn Frappuccinos from Starbucks. Many social media platforms have been exploding of photos and videos and advertisements. That’s what happens these days..mostly memes hit the internet harder than frappuccinos. I basically bought the frappuccino to try it.

When I got home, I looked at the side of the cup…it said “Hannah Baker”. I was laughing for at least two minutes because I didn’t even notice that someone wrote that (my name is also Hannah and spelled the same way) and I love the show Thirteen Reasons Why.

I’d like to discuss that show.

Synopsis of Show

This TV drama follows a boy name Clay who receives 12 cassette taps on his doorstep. These cassette taps were recorded by a girl named Hannah. Each tape is a new reason why she committed suicide (I actually tear up thinking about this.). Clay listens to these tapes throughout the entire show.

The Debate About Thirteen Reasons Why

I’ve read a lot of reviews about Thirteen Reasons Why while scrolling through Facebook and Twitter. Some have said the directors should not have portrayed the suicide in such a fashion. In certain episodes things can get graphic…but it really does happen out there.

There are people out there who are willing to make others suffer whether it be physically or mentally. It may hit close to home and trigger those who have gone through this sort of pain/trauma.

I think the motive was to educate those who haven’t suffered themselves but who know someone who is struggling with this issue. The makers of Thirteen Reasons Why were trying to educate us all, not offend.

Of course filming this sort of show is difficult. So difficult. You have to keep in mind that these people were being brutally honest.

The Second Big Debate With This Show

I saw one particular post about this subtopic. Sadly, I don’t remember where I read it or what it was called. All I remember is that one critic said that Thirteen Reasons Why justified pining the reasons for suicide on other people.

That was just Hannah’s circumstance. She was bullied beyond her breaking point. Everyone’s life story is different. What we go through isn’t the same to those we surround ourselves with.

There are warnings for those who might be triggered by such actions in the beginning of the episode. If anyone is affected by this, they shouldn’t watch. It will just spur more negative emotions.

*rant over*

Thanks for reading! I hope to be more active over the next few weeks.

I’ll be posting a new poem within a few days.

Keep reading my friends,

Hannah 🙂

Leave a Reply

