Updates

Shakespeare and Other Wonders

There’s Always a Hidden Meaning

In my AP Lit class we’re reading Hamlet. (Yay..Shakespeare.) I haven’t decided if I like Shakespeare or not, but I find the process of reading and analyzing his work very entertaining.

I’m often caught between words and end up having to read each sentence over and over again. That state of confusion just occurred during sophomore year when we had to read Julius Caesar. What made reading Julius Caesar different from the rest of the plays we read was those PSAT tests hanging over my head. I guess I didn’t really pay attention that well…so there’s an answer.

I’m glad that eventually I learned my lesson sophomore year, of course when the tests were over. Those tests didn’t even matter…I wonder why I was so wrapped around the fear of failing a practice test. *shrugs then sips cup of tea*

I find Hamlet interesting. The entire beginning was a total contradiction to the way we’re supposed to react. Shouldn’t Francisco be the one to ask Barnardo why the heck he showed up out of nowhere?

I wouldn’t have noticed that just by reading it. Which brings me to my point..what else have I missed when reading Shakespeare? What underlying meanings did I miss in Julius Caesar or Romeo and Juliet?

Analyzing text has always been a challenge for me. Especially analyzing the text of classics such as Hamlet and Gilgamesh. Believe it or not I find it easier to analyze poetry better than plays or novels. You’d think that would be more difficult..idk *laughing emoji*

How many of you struggled with Shakespeare? Are any of you quite familiar with it?

In Other News…

How have you all been?

Spring has sprung!!! I’m so excited. Nothing like fresh flowers to brighten the aftermath of a few gloomy months.

Stay tuned for a new poem coming your way!

-Hannah the amateur Shakespeare reader

2 thoughts on “Shakespeare and Other Wonders”

Leave a Reply

