Updates

A Little Slice of Society-3.14.17//Fables and Tea

Let’s just say I’ve been enlightened by the previous two weeks. I’ve realized that this “real world” everyone has been warning me about since 6th grade exists. I guess I tried to hide this monster of a thought underneath my bed for too long.

I started working at a restaurant two weeks ago. It’s awesome. Everyone is so lovely and I enjoy working there. It’s my first job. My little slice of society, as I like to call it.

It’s daunting to think that there’s a hold different world that your everyday school day. Elementary school-high school schedules aren’t how society works when you’re an adult. I’m going to miss that set schedule.

There’s also the perks of freedom and college. You get to pursue what ever you want. Of course there is a good side and bad side to that. Sometimes your hopes and dreams don’t really follow through. You try to shoot for the moon, but miss. At least you land among the stars…(my weird pessimistic take of that quote by Les Brown).

We learned about the Allegory of the Cave in AP Lit and that lesson has stuck with me throughout this entire semester.That specific lesson brought all of my worries and daunting thoughts into perspective.

You only can get used to it. As difficult as it sounds.

When I was in 8th grade, I was terrified of high school and not being able to keep up with the new lifestyle. I did. I have a feeling that this very thing will happen again when I graduate high school.

There’s a whole new world out there. I just have to practice navigating it.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this sort of spectrum recently. It’s quite nice to take those thoughts out of my mind and into my little slice of the internet.

Write on,

Hannah the bookworm

 

Leave a Reply

